the program of studies of the first-year course at the University of New Brunswick, whose examinations the pupils write. There are somewhat fewer than twenty private academic schools in the Province, most of them Roman Catholic.

In recent years facilities for secondary education have been increased by the construction of regional and rural high schools. In many of these and in urban composite high schools, there are several choices of curricula—academic, commercial, industrial, home economics and agriculture.

Vocational education is provided also in two vocational schools, in the New Brunswick Technical Institute at Moncton, in evening classes in many centres, in the Maritime Forest Ranger School, in four agricultural schools (two operated by the Department of Agriculture and two by the Department of Education), and in private business colleges of which there are about half a dozen.

Elementary school teachers are trained in the New Brunswick Teachers' College and in the normal school of the Université Saint-Joseph. In addition, there are normal school courses for men and women in six Roman Catholic educational institutions. Secondary school teachers are trained in five universities, and for industrial-course teachers there is a training program at the New Brunswick Technical Institute. A recent development in teacher education was the establishment in 1955, at the University of New Brunswick and at least one other university, of a course leading, in three years beyond the year at Teachers' College, to a Bachelor of Elementary Education degree.

New Brunswick has six universities and colleges: Mount Allison University, University of New Brunswick, Université de Sacré-Coeur, Université Saint-Joseph (including Collège de l'Assomption and Collège Notre-Dame d'Acadie), Université Saint-Louis (including Collège Maillet), and St. Thomas College.

Quebec.—In Quebec, education is represented in the provincial Cabinet by the Provincial Secretary rather than by a Minister of Education. Public elementary and secondary schools are controlled by a Council of Education which is made up of two committees—one supervising Catholic education and the other supervising Protestant education. The Department of Education is headed by a Superintendent and two Deputy Ministers—one for Catholic and the other for Protestant schools—and Catholic and Protestant school systems exist side by side, each relatively independent of the other.

Private or independent schools play a much more prominent role in Quebec than in other provinces. Chief among these are the classical colleges, which number nearly a hundred. Affiliated to the French-language universities (Laval, Montreal and Sherbrooke), they offer an eight-year course, entered after completion of elementary school and leading in two four-year stages, secondary and college, to the baccalaureate degree.

The French public school curriculum was recently revised to the English pattern. In other words, a seven-year elementary school and a four- or five-year secondary school was substituted for a three-stage primary school (elementary, 1 to 7; complementary, 8 and 9; superior, 10 to 12). A classical course has also been introduced in the public secondary school, equivalent to the first four years of the classical college curriculum. The junior matriculation level in both Catholic and Protestant schools is at the end of the eleventh year.

Public vocational education is highly developed in Quebec, chiefly under the Department of Social Welfare and Youth which operates a network of arts and trades schools, technical schools, and institutes. Teacher training, too, has undergone radical revision within the past few years. The normal schools raised the entrance requirement to completion of the eleventh year, instituted one-, two- and four-year courses, and related their programs to university requirements so that a degree in pedagogy may be earned in the four-year course.

In addition to the three French-language universities mentioned above, there is a Canadian Services College—Collège Militaire Royal de Saint-Jean—and three English-language institutions of higher education: McGill University (including Macdonald College), Sir George Williams College and Bishop's University.